‘A’ Division League Football Championship: Three Star tops the chart «

‘A’ Division League Football Championship: Three Star tops the chart

The Three Star Club, Manang Marsyangdi Club, and Sankata Club are on the top three spots of the points tally achieving cent percent results by the end of the second round matches under the Martyrs Memorial ‘A’ Division League Football Championship.
The second round matches under the league concluded on Monday. Although the three ‘A’ Division clubs have six points each, Three Star is in the first position based on the goal difference.
Similarly, the departmental teams – Nepal Police, Tribhuvan Army and the Armed Police Force (APF) – and Himalayan Sherpa occupy the fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh position, respectively, with four points each after clinching one win and one draw.
Machchhindra Club, which has two points by playing draw in two matches, is in the eighth spot of the points tally while the Chyasal Youth Club and New Road Team which played a draw in one match and conceded defeat in one match are in the ninth and 10th spot respectively of the points table.
Friends Club, Saraswati Club, Jawalakhel Youth Club, and Brigade Boys are sans any points after losing in two matches. These football clubs are in the 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th position respectively in the points tally.
The league has been suspended for two days with the conclusion of the second round matches. The third round matches under the league will start from Wednesday, League director Sanjeev Mishra said. The third round matches will take place on November 22, 23 and 24 while the fourth round matches will be held from November 26 after a two-day hiatus.
Fourteen ‘A’ Division Clubs are competing in the league. There will a total of 91 games under the league being conducted on the ‘round robin’ basis.
The winner of the league will bag Rs 5 million, the first runner-up Rs 3.5 million and the second runner-up team Rs 2.5 million. Similarly, the third runner-up team will bag Rs 1.5 million, the fourth runner-up team Rs 700 thousand and the fifth runner-up team Rs 500 thousand. The team selected for the ‘fair play’ will get Rs 100 thousand. All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) will give Rs 50 thousand to the winner and Rs 10 thousand to the player declared ‘man of the match’ in each game.
The winner of the league will participate in the AFC Asian Cup Football Championship. The ‘A’ Division Football League has resumed after four years.

– Kumar Chaulagain