Government decides provincial capitals and chiefs
Thursday, Jan 18, 2018

After a long wait, the government on Wednesday declared temporary headquarters of seven provinces and appointed provincial chiefs too.
A cabinet meeting at Prime Minister’s official residence in Baluwatar has decided Biratnagar as temporary headquarters and Govinda Subba as the chief in Province 1; Janakpur as the capital of Province 2 with Ratneshwor Lal Kayastha as the chief, and Hetauda as the capital of Province 3 and Anuradha Koirala its chief. Similarly, the government declared Pokhara as the temporary headquarters and Baburam Kunwar as provincial chief of Province 4, Rupandehi as the capital and Umakanta Jha as the chief of Province 5, Surkhet as the capital with Durga Khanal as the provincial chief of Province 6, whereas Dhangadi has been fixed as the capital of Province 7 with Mohan Raj Malla as its chief.